Review: Prophecy (Legacy #2) by Ellery Kane

prophecy

Publication Date: May 29th, 2015
Publisher: Dog Ear Publishing

Synopsis:  Over a year has passed since Lex Knightley journeyed alone into desolate San Francisco. The Guardian Force is disbanded, emotion-altering drugs banned, and citizens allowed to return to the seemingly resurrected city.

For Lex, life is almost normal, but normal is precarious. Normal has a way of falling apart.

One rainy night changes everything. Out on parole, Quin McAllister’s father is arrested for the brutal murder of his new wife. As the Resistance resurges, claiming a conspiracy, Lex doesn’t know what-or who-to believe. When old enemies resurface in new disguises and trusted friends start keeping secrets, normal splits right down the middle, leaving Lex and Quin on opposite sides.

Prophecy-the second novel of Ellery Kane’s Legacy trilogy-continues the story of Lex and Quin, testing the strength of friendship, forgiveness, and love.

My Review:

star2star2star2star2star2

If you haven’t read the first book in the Legacy series, you should go check out the review for it here.  There might be some spoilers here that you might not want to read before reading the first book.

This book was as phenomenal as the first!  in the first book, we are introduced to the emotion altering medications (EAMs), Zenigenic, the Crim-X program, as well as the characters that come into play in this book.

It’s been a year since the ending of Legacy, and the story picks up right where it left off (well, with a year’s difference), and it is so easy to get lost in the story of Lex and Quin all over again.

Lex and Quin start off as the same loving couple we last left them as (seriously, Lex and Quin are definitely one of my favorite book couples.  I love them together), and their relationship seems pretty strong in the beginning of the book.  Lex is in college, and Quin is working with his dad to repair the Golden Gate Bridge.  Since Quin’s dad is out of prison now, and is now happily remarried.  It seems like he is getting his life in order, until Quin comes to see Lex to tell her that his dad has been arrested for the murder of his new wife.  Only…did he really do it?  Or was he framed?

Lex doesn’t seem to know what to believe, and this brings some pretty terrible consequences for Lex and Quin’s relationship (I’ll admit it, I was pretty sad about it).  While they try to figure out whether to repair their relationship (or if they even can), or to walk away, we have a bunch of other important stuff happening, too.

Augustus Porter is back, and he has been appointed the drug czar, and it is his mission to clear the streets of all of the EAMs that people are still using illegally.  But he can’t possibly be up to doing good deeds, can he?  He’s looking for Lex, and he’ll go to some pretty dark means to get to her.

Also, Max makes an appearance in the book as well (as do Edison and Elana, from Legacy).  Max has a new love interest, and it’s a pretty dangerous one.  Not to mention that Max is doing Eupho, an EAM, with his new boyfriend as well.

A lot of incredibly important things happen in this book that are vital to the way that the story is playing out.  Some parts of it made me pretty sad (I won’t say what, specifically), and I’m hoping that the final book in the series wraps everything up nicely.

This book was just as incredible as Legacy, and the story was just as captivating.  I cannot wait for the next book!

Note: I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Advertisements

Review: The Leveller by Julia Durango

the leveller

Publication Date: June 23rd, 2015
Publisher: HarperTeen

Synopsis: Nixy Bauer is a self-made Leveller. Her job? Dragging kids out of virtual reality and back to their parents in the real world. It’s normally easy cash, but Nixy’s latest mission is fraught with real danger, intrigue, and romance.

Nixy Bauer is used to her classmates being very, very unhappy to see her. After all, she’s a bounty hunter in a virtual reality gaming world. Kids in the MEEP, as they call it, play entirely with their minds, while their bodies languish in a sleeplike state on the couch. Irritated parents, looking to wrench their kids back to reality, hire Nixy to jump into the game and retrieve them.

But when the game’s billionaire developer loses track of his own son in the MEEP, Nixy is in for the biggest challenge of her bounty-hunting career. Wyn Salvador isn’t some lazy kid looking to escape his homework: Wyn does not want to be found. And he’s left behind a suicide note. Nixy takes the job but quickly discovers that Wyn’s not hiding—he’s being held inside the game against his will. But who is holding him captive, and why?

Nixy and Wyn attempt to fight their way out of a mind game unlike any they’ve encountered, and the battle brings them closer than either could have imagined. But when the whole world is virtual, how can Nixy possibly know if her feelings are real?

Gamers and action fans of all types will dive straight into the MEEP, thanks to Julia Durango’s cinematic storytelling. A touch of romance adds some heart to Nixy’s vivid, multidimensional journey through Wyn’s tricked-out virtual city, and constant twists keep readers flying through to the breathtaking end.

My Review:
star2star2star2star2star2

This book is fun.

I can’t remember the last time I finished a book, sat down, and said that.  But as soon as I finished it, it’s exactly how I summed this book up.

It felt like a vacation from a lot of other books I’ve been reading lately.

The Leveller didn’t have a deep plot line, complex characters, or ridiculous twists that keep you guessing the entire way through.  It’s not so science fiction-y that you need time to digest what you’re reading before you continue, and it definitely seems somewhat juvenile in some places.  I’ll admit it, I normally hate that kind of thing, and typically lose count of the amount of eye rolls I do before tossing the book aside and starting a new one, but man, this was just…fantastic.

It starts off with Nixy Bauer, who has a job bringing kids back from the virtual reality world, the MEEP, when they have spent more than their allotted time there and don’t come back on their own.  She is paid for her services, and her motto is “Nixy Bauer, home in an hour” (like I said, it’s juvenile in some spots, but bear with it, because the book is amazing).  Her friends, Moose and Chang, spend their time creating hacks that allow kids to do things in this virtual reality world that aren’t authorized – such as staying in the world longer than the four hours they’re permitted.  So she goes into the various worlds, brings the kids out, and gets paid.  It’s a pretty cool job, if you ask me.

Her parents both work for the MEEP creator, and when his son goes missing inside the virtual reality world, and none of the people he has hired to get him back out are able to help, he comes to Nixy.  While Nixy isn’t too keen on the idea at first, she eventually agrees to it, and she goes into the virtual reality world of Wyn to try and bring him back out.

Only after making it past all the rooms that hold terrifying things (think sharks, ghosts, etc.), and the maze that will lead her to Wyn, she finds herself trapped in this world as well, and the two of them have to work together to get out.

Of course you’ll find the typical romance (I mean, it’s expected, and does not disappoint.  At least there’s no love triangle, so there’s that), but it’s actually kind of cute…the kind of cute that makes you go “Aweeee” and keep reading to see what happens between them.

The characters aren’t exactly complex, but they’re pretty well developed in my opinion, and I couldn’t help but smile at some of the things that Nixy says and does.  It’s just cute.  The way she swears in other languages instead of English is kind of amusing.

It seems like this book is going to be the first book in a new series, so I’m really excited to see where the author goes with this.  The ending wasn’t exactly a cliffhanger, so I’m wondering if the same characters will be in the next one, and it will continue the story where it left off, or if it will be a completely different story than Nixy and Wyn.  I’m hoping it continues the story.  In either case, I’ll be reading this book at least a few more times!

Note: I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review: Alive by Scott Sigler

alivePublication Date: July 14th, 2015
Publisher: Del Rey

Synopsis: For fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Red Rising comes a gripping sci-fi adventure in which a group of teenagers wake up in a mysterious corridor with no knowledge of who they are or how they got trapped. Their only hope lies with an indomitable young woman who must lead them not only to answers but to survival.

“I open my eyes to darkness. Total darkness. I hear my own breathing, but nothing else. I lift my head . . . it thumps against something solid and unmoving. There is a board right in front of my face. No, not a board . . . a lid.”

A teenage girl awakens to find herself trapped in a coffin. She has no idea who she is, where she is, or how she got there. Fighting her way free brings little relief—she discovers only a room lined with caskets and a handful of equally mystified survivors. Beyond their room lies a corridor filled with bones and dust, but no people . . . and no answers.

She knows only one thing about herself—her name, M. Savage, which was engraved on the foot of her coffin—yet she finds herself in charge. She is not the biggest among them, or the boldest, but for some reason the others trust her. Now, if they’re to have any chance, she must get them to trust each other.

Whatever the truth is, she is determined to find it and confront it. If she has to lead, she will make sure they survive. Maybe there’s a way out, a rational explanation, and a fighting chance against the dangers to come. Or maybe a reality they cannot comprehend lies just beyond the next turn.

My Review:
starstarstar

In the back of the book, the author includes a note asking not to give any spoilers away when reviewing this book.  While that might make this a difficult review, I definitely believe that this book needs to be experienced by reading it from start to finish, rather than just reading spoilers.

This actual story in this book was nothing at all what I was expecting this book to be about.  Although I had read the plot multiple times, it still surprised me.  This book was incredibly science fiction-y, deep, and, well, rather stunning at how well the setting was described.

Some of the characters in this book were likeable, yet it is hard to attach or care about others.  Some of the things that the main character talked about and thought about were ridiculous, considering their position and the horrifying things that they were seeing and having to deal with.  I’m not going to list any spoilers, but these kids come across some things that I couldn’t imagine dealing with.

I was really looking forward to reading this, and I’m not going to lie – it was a pretty decent book – just not what I was expecting.  It was a rather fast read for me, but I felt like I was forcing myself to keep going at some points.  It wasn’t that the book was boring – it definitely was full of action and very fast paced, but I kept feeling like it was missing something.

The entire plot in this book unfolds slowly, since these kids wake up with no memory of who they are, where they are, or how they got there.  They have to piece everything together bit by bit.  There are definitely some major plot twists I hadn’t seen coming, and they really make the book worth while.


Note: I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.